Before starting the form submission, please read the suggested browser notes below.


Center for Women Lunch and Learn October 2017 Registration


10/4/2017 - 10/18/2017

In partnership with the National Journal for Women in Higher Education (NJWHE), the Center for Women is excited to host a series of live virtual conversations centered on recent journal publications.  These Lunch and Learn sessions will be hosted on the lunch hour every other month and will feature an opportunity for participants to interact with the author(s) and discuss current issues in a video chat format.  In an effort to create meaningful dialogue, participation is limited to the first 25 who register to participate.  Participants are asked to review the article prior to attending the program to best engage with conversation.  Topics and authors will shift every other month and this page will continue to be updated with the most current information

This is free benefit for NASPA members. To participate, please complete the application; participation is limited to first come, first serve and will close once the event is at capacity.  As this program is popular and wait lists are expected, please only register if you are able to fully commit to attending.

October’s Lunch and Learn Conversation

Bring your lunch and gear up for a conversation facilitated by a Center for Women board member and NJWHE author, Deniece Dortch, Visiting Assistant Professor; George Washington University on her latest publication to the Journal.  Join author Dr. Dortch and fellow participants to discuss the article Black Undergraduate Women and Their Sense of Belonging in STEM at Predominantly White Institutions.

In an effort to create meaningful dialogue, participation is limited to the first 25 who register to participate.  Participants are asked to review the article prior to attending the program to best engage with conversation. As this program is popular and wait lists are expected, please only register if you are able to fully commit to attending. When registering, please select one of the time options available.

Technology Requirements

Participants are asked to have a web-cam available to participate in the virtual lunch session. Prior to the program date, participants will be sent platform instructions to access the virtual conversation.

Date: Thursday, October 19, 2017

  • 12:00 - 1:00 EST, 11:00 - 12:00 CST, 10:00 - 11:00 MST, 9:00 - 10:00 PST
  • 3:00 - 4:00 EST, 2:00 - 3:00 CST, 1:00 - 2:00 MST, 12:00 - 1:00 PST  
 

Article Description

Black Undergraduate Women and Their Sense of Belonging in STEM at Predominantly White Institutions

Because little work exists on the sense of belonging focusing on just Black undergraduate women in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM), especially at highly selective predominantly white institutions (PWIs), this study takes a phenomenological approach to understand the lived experiences of Black undergraduate women in STEM by exploring how racial and gendered microaggressions influence how three African American women majoring in the sciences experience sense of belonging at PWIs. A phenomenological inductive analysis was used to compile the research findings, which indicated that racial and gender discrimination, isolation, marginalization, and alienation resulting from microaggressions occurred. Implications for inclusive practices are discussed.

To access, login on the right-hand side with your NASPA membership.

Contact Information
Please list your contact information below for participation in the program.
First Name:  Required
Last Name:  Required
TItle:  Required
Institution :  Required
Email:  Required
Phone Number:  Required
Are you a current NASPA member?  Required

 Yes  No
 Unsure  
 
Program Selection

In an effort to meet all members on a lunch hour, this program is offered once during the lunch hour in each time zone. Registrations are first come, first served and will close once capacity is hit at 25 participants.

Please select your preferred time option and we will share access information closer to the date of the program.

Time Selection

 Thursday, October 19, 2017 |12:00 - 1:00 EST, 11:00 - 12:00 CST, 10:00 - 11:00 MST, 9:00 - 10:00 PST  Thursday, October 19, 2017 |3:00 - 4:00 EST, 2:00 - 3:00 CST, 1:00 - 2:00 MST, 12:00 - 1:00 PST
 
Future Involvement
The Center for Women is always looking for volunteers to assist with social media outreach and blogging. If you would be interested in blogging about your experience with the Lunch and Learn session, please note below.
Interest in Participating

 Yes, I would be interested in blogging for the Center for Women  No, I would be interested in blogging for the Center for Women
 
Additional Information
Please list thoughts, ideas, suggestions for future programming you would like to see through the Center for Women. Additional information is welcome too.
Additional Details
 
PLEASE NOTE: IF A PORTION (OR ANY) OF YOUR TEXT IS NOT SAVING, PLEASE CLICK HERE FOR HELP

 
The SPAM blocker below works best if you are using the latest browser versions of Mozilla, Google Chrome, or Internet Explorer (IE). If you are using IE, please ensure you are using the latest version, as previous versions will NOT work! If you have trouble with the SPAM blocker, please contact Zafer Bebek.

Get in Touch with NASPA

×